Books-The REAL Temptation...

Search This Blog

Tuesday, July 6, 2010

Review: The Sky Is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson

SYNOPSIS: Seventeen-year-old Lennie Walker, bookworm and band geek, plays second clarinet and spends her time tucked safely and happily in the shadow of her fiery older sister, Bailey. But when Bailey dies abruptly, Lennie is catapulted to center stage of her own life—and, despite her nonexistent history with boys, suddenly finds herself struggling to balance two. Toby was Bailey’s boyfriend; his grief mirrors Lennie’s own. Joe is the new boy in town, a transplant from Paris whose nearly magical grin is matched only by his musical talent. For Lennie, they’re the sun and the moon; one boy takes her out of her sorrow, the other comforts her in it. But just like their celestial counterparts, they can’t collide without the whole wide world exploding.

This remarkable debut is perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen, Deb Caletti, and Francesca Lia Block. Just as much a celebration of love as it is a portrait of loss, Lennie’s struggle to sort her own melody out of the noise around her is always honest, often hilarious, and ultimately unforgettable.

REVIEW: I am yet to read a book as heart rendering and profound on one hand and magical and fun on the other hand as The Sky Is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson! Though on the cover it says that the target readers are YA,the implications of the story are too profound to be restricted to a particular age group. The book is meant for younger(above 17 in my opinion) and older readers alike.

Lennie’s grief at losing her only sister and friend Bailey has been so beautifully captured in the book,that I had tears in my eyes and a smile on my face together at the same time throughout the book…is that even possible?! Bailey vents out her grief through writing. She writes little poems,scraps of conversation,and jots down little incidents from her memories on whatever she gets-paper cups,branches of trees,crumpled paper,etc. These little notes,she believes will reach Bailey someday. This was so beautifully pathetic. Lennie finds her sole companion in grief in Toby,Bailey’s boyfriend and they,due to the mutual grief they share,get into a complicated relationship. I personally felt that it was not like they wanted each other as much as they wanted to fill up the void that Bailey left by diverting their minds to sex as a casual and passionate alternative to the passionate grief they felt. And people do have their own different ways of handling with loneliness,may it be drinks,drugs or seeking comfort in someone whom ethically they should not have got involved with. So I guess I was not much offended by Toby and Lennie’s relationship though it certainly felt wrong.

Joe brought a fresh air into the story everytime he appeared! His charm,honesty,sincerity,his passion for music and love for Lennie got across to me so well through the pages of the book that I myself fell in love with him instantly!

Jandy Nelson doesn’t need any extraneous aid,nor any dramatic interjections to evoke a motley emotions in her readers. She has written a story which is perfect in every sphere and with which every person can connect and empathize. It is the best respite for someone who has lost a loved one. Every living human should read this book! I love Jandy Nelson’s writing. She has captured my heart with this very beautiful and heartbreaking tale of tragedy and romance.


  1. Ditto to everything. You've summed up all of my thoughts on the book. Great review!

  2. Looking forward to this book. It sounds so sad yet uplifting at the same time. I love all things Sarah Dessen and recently started reading Deb Caletti and Jandy Nelson is compared to both so I am sure that I am going to love this book! Fantastic review.

  3. I've been seeing this book around alot. Great review! Makes me want to check it out for myself!

  4. @Cara,THANK YOU!
    @YA Book Lover and @Jamie, You must read this book!

  5. Could not agree more! I loved this book and can't stop thinking about the characters.